Ethiopia

As difficult as some bits of this adventure have been, I truly love Ethiopia.  It is such a beautiful country.  It is easy to forget that when you get caught up in the craziness of city life, but when you really look around and set frustration aside, it’s beauty leaves one awestruck–or at least that is how it leaves me.

This weekend, we took a trip to the Southern region of Ethiopia.  We spent 14 hours (total) driving on some not so lovely roads in our non-4wd vehicle, so my insides were a bit shaken up, but as I looked around me on the drive, I was reminded of Ethiopia’s beauty.  There are mountains and hills everywhere.  The dirt has such vibrant color to it and it changes with the regions.  There are forests of tall trees and amazing creatures that you can see.  On this trip, we saw some amazing birds and camels wandering around in the fields.  The planting work the farmers do is almost artistic.  The sun rising and setting over the mountains takes my breath away.  I think Ethiopia is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

I love driving past little towns and seeing mud buildings that have been painted, some with bright colors and some with artwork of the owners–even  some tukuls (huts) have painting on the outside of them.  I cannot imagine the work that goes into painting a mud wall.  I love seeing people greeting one another on the streets in such a warm and loving way.  I love the donkeys running through the street–and almost straight into our van–as we barrel down the “highway”.  Even the pants-less kids are adorable to me, so innocent and just full of life.

Yep, I think Ethiopia is a beautiful place.  I love it.  I will miss it with all my heart when we leave.  I will return, in one way, shape or form.  And, as we experience these sights I constantly think, “I cannot believe this is my life.”.  Amazing.  Pictures don’t really do it justice, but here are a few anyway.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response

  1. Yes you are right! I was been ministered the gospel around that areas. It is very amazing region! May God bless u more & more!
    Your student from Addis Ababa Bible College, Tsegaye

Leave a Reply

