Our Past Week

This past week has been TOUGH and incredibly discouraging, for the most part.

Thursday, I went to the clinic (see post below) for major stomach issues that had already been going on for over a week.  I was put on meds and those were bad!  The side effects were not at all desirable, but I finished off the dose and prayed they did the trick.  They didn’t.  Yesterday, I was feeling rotten again.  Today, I’m back to puking and diarrhea like it’s my job.  Let me tell you, two weeks + of being this on and off again sick in a foreign country is HARD.  I just want to go to a doctor I know I can trust.  I just want billing to run through regular insurance.  I long for “home” and all the comforts it brings.  Honestly, I just want to be healed.  Today, I will visit the doctor again.  I don’t see any other option.  I’m just praying he has a better solution this time.  I don’t think I can take those particular meds again.

Friday was a great day.  We went to Born Free, a wildlife rescue location just out of the city.  It was great to see the animals. I’ll post pictures someday.  It was great to be out of the city for a while–the air is just cleaner and the views are breathtaking.  Just before we left for home, I started to feel really ill again, though.  That always puts a damper on things.

Saturday, I got a flat tire.  My brother was with me, so we got it changed (not that I can’t do it myself, but I’m glad he was there).  A friend told me where to get it fixed, so I did and we got it put back on–the spare for our car is a bit iffy, to say the least.  I think I felt decent most of Saturday.  A welcome reprieve.

Sunday, we went to church for Ethiopian Easter.  I guess all the Ethiopians went to other churches because the place was fairly empty.  We went out for a nice lunch and then I felt bad again, so it was home for the rest of the day.  Seems I always feel really rotten shortly after eating, but I can’t really just quit eating!

Monday, I blew a completely different tire.  I was about 1 block from home when I heard it.  I just kept driving and got it into our driveway.  While taking that tire off and putting the iffy spare back on, we discovered an issue with the axle.  I think it’s an issue that can be fixed without horrendous expense, but where do we take it?  This is one of the hard parts about living in a foreign country–we don’t speak the language well, yet, and people are constantly trying to rip off anyone with a white face.  Not only that, everyone and their brother will tell you they’re a mechanic, but…they’re really not.  It’s hard to know who to trust or where to even take the car.  There’s no Walmart or Fleet Farm to drive up to for a new tire and quick inspection.

Oh, we also got a call that the boys had been in a minor car wreck on the way home from school.  That will terrify any mother, but in a foreign country you just have to add about 10 degrees to that terror.  As if I didn’t already feel under attack…now my kids?  Oh, no.  That will NOT do.  They are fine and so are all parties involved, by the grace of God, but I am definitely left with an emotional scar from that one.  Anyone who has driven here will understand.  Most of my friends think we’re nuts to even put our kids in a taxi.  We don’t see that we have any other option.

Tuesday, I went on a field trip with Reily.  I didn’t feel well at all, but this was all he talked about for two weeks leading up to it.  Many parents volunteered, but I was chosen to go with and he was thrilled.  Every day he would remind me that Tuesday was the field trip.  Monday he asked if I was too sick to go–as I laid in bed moaning and groaning from the pain.  I assured him I would make it.  And, I did, but not without a lot of hesitation.  Bathrooms are real sketchy here and that’s reason enough to just stay home when you’re sick, but I took some ibuprofen for the pain and sucked it up.  Off we went to a quaintly situated pottery place with 20 screaming kindergarteners on a bus.  It was a great day until, poor Reily was playing with about 12 other kids in a field and somehow picked up army ants.  The little buggers crawled into his clothes and started biting him all over.  He was hysterical.  It was more than this mommy could take.  I stripped him down (almost all the way) in that field and got the ants off of him and out of his clothes.  This ruined his day, of course, and again just sent me to a dark place with all the battles we’ve been facing.  On the way home, I started to feel incredibly ill again.  Chris came to pick me up.  On the way home, I told him that I was done.  Ready to go home.  I just hit my breaking point.  Not two minutes later, his phone buzzes…our work permit is done!  Of course.

Today, I am in bed feeling even worse.  Chris is off trying to get the car looked at.  I just hope he’s somewhat successful.  An Ethiopian is helping him find places to take it, so that’s good.  I’m just lying in bed, again, feeling fairly hopeless about this illness, but excited that we have the work permit and are staying in Ethiopia, yet really, really wanting to get on a plane to go home.

So, this week has been tough.  But, here we are.  We want to be here, we want to do what God has called us to do.  I just need the attacks to ease up for a bit.  The bug bites need to stop–we’re covered in them.  I can’t do laundry without getting about 20 more, as if I didn’t hate doing laundry here enough already.  The car needs to be repaired and running without costing us a fortune.  We need to get residency in the next 8 days–which would be a whole lot easier if we had a car to take us from A to B.  I need to be healthy so I can rejoice in the victories.

Please pray for these things specifically:  My health, our kids’ safety, encouragement, residency paperwork and our car.  Soon, VERY soon, we hope to post a report that is full of sunshine and rainbows.  Until then, this is a week in our lives.  Wanna trade places? 🙂

EDITED TO ADD:  Went to clinic, amoeba is dead, kidney stone is working it’s way out.  I had an attack a couple of months ago, but never felt like the stone actually exited.  This time, it is.  Pain meds taken, life is getting better. 🙂  Now, let’s celebrate that work permit.  YAHOO!!!!!  Residency will be applied for tomorrow.  We have 7 more days now, but have been told by several sources that it only takes 2-3.  Here’s hoping that’s true.  🙂

2 responses

  1. Praying for you, Betsy! We have friends who lived in Africa as missionaries for 7 years or so. They say that many times over the course of their life there, one of them wanted to go home. It was then that the other was strong. Praying that Chris can be strong for you when you feel weak and discouraged; and that you will be strong for him when he is weak and discouraged. It’s bound to happen to both of you. As long as it doesn’t happen to both of you at the same time, you’re good! 😉

  2. Well for sure I don’t need to tell you that all the crud-ola you face…getting through is by the grace of God and the reward of your faith and trust in Him. Some days I would like to tell God “Hey, take my word for it. I trust You!!!” Some how I think He just giggles and still makes me to “prove it”. I am proud of you for continuing to put your faith in God; especially when it comes to the boys and their travels to and from school. I can’t imagine your worries and the strength to continue on is admirable. My thoughts and prayers are with you all every day!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

